My favourite single issue of any comic. Ever.

It's Cerebus the Aarkvark #75, publlished in the summer of 1985. I bought my copy for Mark One Comics in Auckland [long since gone, of course]. It was the first issue of this independently published Canadian comic, and made me a convert to the title after growing up on diet of US four-colour superheroes and occasional forays into British black & white weeklies.

Yes, yes, Cerebus creator Dave Sim went more than a little off piste later on [don't get me started on #186] and there were many issues of the comic I bought from habit rather than enthusiasm.

But #75 is just end to end brilliant - funny, poignant, even heartbreaking. Two characters in a room talking about their feelings, one of whom is a kind of aardvark, and yet the equal of many Oscar-winning dramas IMHO.

So today's blip features the copy I bought in 1985, which I've carried round the world with me ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.