Celebrating Saint Nicholas Day

When I was a child we used to celebrate Saint Nicholas Day at home, not because we expected any presents from him, - I live in the south of Spain, not in the north of Europe-, but because my father was called Nicholas and on December 6th was his name day. My mother would prepare a special lunch at home and we would give him our little presents, and as children, we felt somehow that it was the beginning of the Christmas season.

Today Pedro and I invited my mother and my young brother, also called Nicholas, to have lunch with us to celebrate this day and remember my father.
 I prepared this paella. Although it lacks some details of decorations, they said it was delicious, and I believed them because we ate it all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.