Golden Balls

I decorated the tree this afternoon. No one ever helps me with it (I'm sure I used to love decorating the tree when I was young) so I cranked up the Christmas tunes and got on with it myself. The magical thing about getting all the decs out is the memories associated with them. I always buy a few new ones but there are lots of golden oldies that come out every year. From Alfie's first Christmas bauble to a knitted santa (given to me by D's parents' cats about 25 years ago) to a cheery robin from a pupil and the tatty bits of cardboard produced by the children when they were at playgroup or infants school. I always find a branch for the angel my mum and dad had when they were first married. I couldn't part with any of them.
Gearing up for our annual Christmas do tomorrow. Now that the tree and lights are up it's beginning to feel a lot like Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.