Zell am See

So after a mammoth drive yesterday from Budapest to Southern Austria, the morning was dedicated to exploring Zell am See.

Its a fantastic small town with a great lake and better views. The lake is a great, people swimming and playing in the water, speed boats towing rings, people fishing. I hired a small electric boat to potter about the lake which was great fun. I left around lunchtime and headed into the Alps. I stopped at Arthurhaus before going for a hike up Hochkonig, it was a quiet hike with not many other people about but it was well worth it tremendous views.

Then I fulfilled a boyhood ambition when I drove to Hohenwerfen Castle, or as I know it the Schloss Adler from "Where Eagles Dare" Castle. Then I went onto the Eagles nest in Berchtesgaden, which was Hitlers summer retreat and is now a restaurant and finished the day in Salzburg and the old town for dinner.

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.