Me

People around us change us. The things that they like impact us. After 36 years with David I can't always remember what I liked before I met him. When I look at our vinyl collection I can't remember which are mine and which are his. They became ours.

So now I'm trying to be me and do the things that I like rather than trying to do the things that he liked. So this evening I cooked with very loud music playing.

I've been to the funeral today of a lady that used to be in the choir. I wanted to pay my respects but it was at the same crematorium as David's service. I held it together during the service and then sobbed.

One of the pieces of music was 'Days' by the Kinks. The words are very appropriate:

Thank you for the days
Those endless days, those scared days you gave me
I'm thinking of the days
I won't forget a single day, believe me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.