EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Maximos Wellington

That's who I met today! All the way from Australia! Well, he is an Australian citizen, but he actually lived in London, before he arrived on our doorstep.

How and why is he in Luxor Egypt? It's a long story, with many interesting tales to tell. I don't have the full picture I am afraid, as we had a brief meeting at ACE earlier today. A flat tyre on a motorbike and a need for some welding was the main topic of conversation and the needed to be fixed, pretty damned quick!

Max is 24years old. Straight away, I felt an amazing energy from him, he has a presence, exuding calmness and positivity 'It's really great to meet you' He states as he shook my hand confidently.

For 2 years he worked and saved enough money to fulfil his dream of travelling by motorbike from London to Melbourne, via a myriad of Countries. With no plans of where he will lay his head, he normally arrives at a farm and asks if he can stay the night. Where there are animals, he is happy to be amongst them.

He came to stay at ACE, because of his real love of horses. Staying in London, he came across our website, sent an e-mail and arrived yesterday afternoon from Cairo. (Travelling by sea from Greece, to the ancient port of Alexandria, was clearly one of the highlights of his journey so far. His face lit up as he spoke of it)

Training to be a farrier, Max offered his knowledge in return for a weeks lodgings at the ACE Hospital. Less than 24hrs in Luxor, he has made a big impression on those he has met.

The stable guys are in awe of his 250Kilo motorbike, his freedom and his lifestyle.

Zakia, pictured here with Max, is convinced that he is a very special man and is going to be famous one day. She insisted on having her photo taken with him!

Max touched upon one tale of staying with nuns in Northern Greece. He told me 'I started my 40 day walk on the Epirus mountains, on the border of Albania and walked east towards Mount Olympus when I fell sick, literally into the hospital, where the nuns took me (and my horse) in. The ancient monastery on Mount Olympus, was where they fed, cared for me and brought me back to life. It was after three months of getting back on my feet, and working with their horses, that their spiritual father, a long bearded holy man who's name was Maximos, blessed my motorcycle and blessed me with his name, the day before I left for Africa'

So, what next for Max? I know that he went off to meet a friend of mine that is a motorbike fiend and possibly the best guy to speak to about bikes. I don't think I will see him again, as he has to leave Monday to catch a ferry somewhere...What a great way to spend your days....Great to meet you Max and good luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.