photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 355 of 366 - The Old Schoolhouse!

The image today was taken early this evening in the City Centre of Coventry. The view is of the original Bablake School. The Grade I listed 14th century building was originally constructed for priests from the adjacent St John the Baptist Church. As with most of the buildings in this local area, the priests quarters were built as a result of the land being donated by Queen Isabella (the Wife of King Edward II). The property was rebuilt in 1560 and at that time it was remodelled as a Boys School. It remained as a fully functioning School until the 1890's. After this time the newer much larger Bablake School was built about a mile away just outside of the City Centre.

The photo was taken using the app ProCamera on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the photo. I Cropped and Straightened the image and applied the Tonal Contrast filter. I then boosted the Brightness, Contrast, Ambiance and Saturation. I also decreased the Highlights a little and added some extra Structure and Sharpening to the image. Next I used the app Mextures to apply the formula called Ice Queen by Jordan Van Solm. I then used the app DistressedFX to add the Cole overlay and the Vanilla texture. Finally I used the app PhotoToaster to add the Contrast preset, the Stark FX and an Large Dark Vignette. I then applied the Scratched texture and the Leather frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.