The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

For a dog that likes jumping into water and lying in puddles, Maisie always seems quite miserable in the rain. So a couple of months ago  I took her raincoat shopping. She tried a couple on quite happily but they were a very bad fit, so we went elsewhere. This time she backed away from me, almost screaming, when I approached her with the jackets. She got very agitated and when I tried to measure her she started snapping at my hands, so I gave up.

About a month ago I decided to have another try. I bought a raincoat and just had it draped around the house. Eventually she'd sleep on it on the sofa and was perfectly happy when I draped it over her like a blanket.

This evening I thought I'd see if she'd tolerate wearing it. She put it on as though there had never been a problem, went for a walk and lay down for a sleep, still wearing it, when we got home.

Success!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.