An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

A Christmas Card from Salisbury Cathedral!

It's annual wonderful tree, the Nativity scene and a new installation, an ever changing squiggle of lights, changing shapes and colours (gently done, nothing too radical!)

I chose this one as it had the best blue star shape, which I thought fitting as it floats over the Nativity scene. I don't usually like to have figures getting in the way in such wondrous places of Worship but here I think they actually add scale.

Excellent results from the Sigma Contemporary 17-70mm f2.8-4; fast aperture for such a zoom and with the essential most effective stabiliser, allowing me to get down to 1/10 sec, easy. It was dark outside by this point so no light coming in and so the conditions were really rather dark.

HUGE thanks for the everything on yesterday's sunrise. I didn't quite get to the Winter Solstice at Stonehenge this year, too tired and the weather conditions were hardly conducive and English Heritage are now bringing in some really rather stifling rules and regulations.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.