jiana

By jiana

The arrows for a new born grandson

Japan has a tradition to show some decorations in a house during new year holidays.

Besides of some decorations to welcome new year, there are two things especially for children, one is Hagoita for girls and the other is Hamaya for boys. A Hagoita is a decorative wooden racket and a Hamaya is a miniture set of a bow and a an arrow.

A Hagoita represents the beauty that the girl would have and a Hamaya does the power that the boy would have.

And as a matter of fact, to prepare them is a responsibility of grandparents, the parents of the mother of a new born baby.

About three years ago, when my first granddaughter welcome new year, to buy a Hagoita was a big event for our family. My daughter, my mother and I went to some shops to find the best one.

But our family hardly forgot about preparing a Hamaya for Eishi, new born boy. looking at the pop in a departmentstore, I adked my daughter you need a Hamaya or not with expecting her ignorance. But inspite of my expectation, she was very eager to get a Hamaya. Her request is much smaller is much better because of the space in a closet but cheaper one is not acceptable.

As a result, she decided the one she liked in AMAZON, and my husband ordered to send it to her house.

After she send the picture of a Hamaya in her house, my husband and I talked. "Who decided to prepare a Hagoita and a Hamaya for a baby" "I don't know. but he made a good contribution for toy stores over 100 years"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.