Apple strudel

Sebastien really likes the song "My Favorite Things" from The Sound of Music. But each time we get to the line "...and crisp apple strudel", he asks, "What's that, mommy?" So I decided to make apple strudel with him for Christmas. Here, after he helped me pull out the dough, he was placing apples and currants and walnuts and brown sugar all over the strudel before rolling it up. When it came out of the oven, we tried a piece and he pronounced it "really really good!"

This afternoon, he had a lot of energy and was finding it hard to nap. At one point, I was lying on the floor, nodding off to sleep, when I heard a noise and looked up at the crib to see what he was doing. There was my little guy, in his sleep sack, holding Freddie in both arms in front of him, and hopping across the length of the crib! I must have said a stern, "Sebastien..." and he replied, in the most earnest tone of voice, "But I'm just teaching Freddie how to jump, mommy." And then he gave a couple more hops (imagine someone hopping in a sack race since he was in his sleep blanket) and said," See, Freddie. This is how you jump." I laughed so hard, my sides were aching...he ended up laughing too, though I'm not sure if he understood why I was laughing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.