momcat1

By momcat1

Turkeys!

Today was the first time in a while I have been able to get out for a walk in a few weeks. It has either been too busy or the weather was not conducive to walking. I don't mind cold weather much but the damp, rainy, cold is not my cup of tea. The birds were not out in force today either on my walk or at the feeders. We don't have much snow cover left due to the recent  rains and I suspect the birds are still foraging elsewhere.
The turkeys were foraging in one of their favorite spots : in a yard with a lot of feeders that backs up against deciduous woods.I am always surprised by the fact they don't seem to mind if someone is on the road watching them. The flock further up the hill takes off for the woods even if I am 300 yards away.These must be the 4 brave ( or stupid) ones in the flock. Or maybe they are the smart ones because they have figured out no one is going to shoot at them that close to a house.In any event , even the 300 mm lens was long enough for a decent shot of their beautiful feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.