Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Mudlarking

Been in London all day and, yes, we got the contract.. Hooray! (Oh, and, Redflash and Jeanie53, guess what, bumped into Zuleika in the South Bank Centre).

Afterwards I stayed and walked along towards Tower Bridge. I had wanted to blip the Olympic rings, but they got taken down a couple of days ago to be replaced by the Paralympic agistos' - which I could see from the Millennium footbridge are there, but still tucked up under the rafters - I think there's a ceremony tomorrow, when they'll be on show for the first time.

So instead I walked back along the river shore. I'm amazed at how many people have taken seriously to mudlarking (complete with plastic gloves, buckets and intense expressions), but these 2 lovely girls were mostly just larking about.

Somewhere I read - probably on the internet - that mudlarking (ie picking up discarded or lost goods from the river) was a recognised way of making a living until 1920. In those days it couldn't have been much of a life, now it's a tourist attraction. I understand clay pipe stems are the ususal treasure

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.