Jackpot!

Having seen another picture of a Kingfisher in Figgate Park online I went looking for one this morning. But, despite a slow wander around the Pond and walking up the Burn and back, there was no sign. Plenty of other things to see, including Mute Swans, Canada Geese, Mallards, Tufted Ducks, Moorhens and Goosanders. Rather odd display from the female Goosander, swimming behind the male with her head low down, resting on the surface of the water (see extra pic). Leaving the park I thought I'd take the slightly circuitous route into Rosefield Park (it would be great if the redevelopment of the Standard Life site provided a short footpath link to the park from the foot of the pedestrian bridge over the main road). Walking into the park I saw a bird sitting on a branch above the burn. Sure enough - a Kingfisher. I watched it for a while before it flew off, downstream. I wonder if that means the bird's territory reaches all the way to the mouth of the burn and if you are lucky you might see one of these beautiful birds on the final stretch of the burn that heads through Portobello down to the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.