Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Catch up

I drove up to Sheffield today to have lunch with the last family member to be visited this Christmas. It was lovely to meet up with my eldest granddaughter who is always so warm, positive and engaging despite the difficulties she has had to overcome. She is still with the same graphic design company and I told her how we used to layout out the student newspaper and take it to the printers in Derby. We used to watch the compositors set up the hot lead print for the presses and we provided extra last minute copy to fill any gaps. For the meal, she had warmed smoked salmon and I had a porcini risotto. Both were lovely. The desert was an impressive baked Alaska with sponge, marmalade and chocolate ice cream inside. It looked great but the meringue could have been baked quite a bit more. It reminded me of the meringue I used to lick out of my mother's mixing bowl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.