Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Oxford Honey

I certainly didn't know until the last few days that honey from around here was worthy of labelling with the name of our town! AOC strikes again?

If I had rotated myself by about 180 degrees from where I took yesterday's 'photo of the Australian hockey gear, I would have shot this picture of beehives instead. The garden in which they stand is opposite the clubhouse, on the other side of the path that leads to our park. During the hockey tournament (it ended today) the owner of the bees decided to do a little trade by selling honey from his back gate. The players, of many nationalities, seem to have cleared his stocks out: now there'll be Oxford Honey in Japan, Germany, South Africa, Australia... At least we got a pot ourselves, but we only had to travel a few hundred metres to get it home.

And there are pretty fine sunflowers in the garden.

Now, I've found out that is indeed some interest in apiary around here: for example, here is the home page of the Oxfordshire Beekeepers' Association.

Do I get Nectar Points for this entry?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.