Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Success

Jenna's day for Archie - they're so good these borrowers of his - and she took him up Blackford Hill, then back to her flat. He always comes back clean and dry too.

When I eventually got up, I addressed a couple of items, then checked if the Post Offices were open. Yes! All open, so I set off down to Morningside, the biggest one. Even got off at the earlier bus stop, so that I could walk more.

And what did I find when I got to the PO? People looking in the windows at a darkened, obviously very SHUT, Post Office!!! What the %^*#+~¥ ? I had checked on the interweb!

I then stomped back up the road, my larger item flapping annoyingly in the wind, and I did not want to have to carry it home again. I got the bus back to Brunstsfield on a hunch - there's a wee shop that also has a PO counter. Yes! It was open! I enquired why the main one down the road was shut, and thanked him profusely for being open.

’I'm NOT open! I just came to do a bit of work in the shop, and everyone comes in!'

Anwyay, job done. I did a lot of walking, really taking care to keep my back straight and lift and bend my knees properly, instead of shuffling along. Must have looked like a Zombie...

Came home, lit the fire, set up my special oven gloves-and-two-bottles-of-prosecco exercise. It's murder!

Archie must be feeling cold, because it's bloomin' HOT down there! You can see our wee doo-dacky spinning thingie on top, which fans the hot air out into the room. Magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.