horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Merckx: the greatest

Book Fest tonight with William Fotheringham in the hot seat, talking about cycling in general (with a lot about Armstrong, perhaps predictably) and also some lovely Merckx insights. Q&A session was perhaps the most interesting bit (especially once the compere managed to move the audience off doping questions).

Halfway through I'd actually had to get up to go to the toilet. Best thing I could have done. Going back in I figured I didn't want to annoy people by squeezing by again, so asked if I should just stand at the back. Which I was told was fine. Meant I could actually see the stage for the last 25 minutes - the seating being on flat ground, and the stage being little raised.

Had to buy the book afterwards and get it signed of course. Funny that just yesterday I was translating something in French for another cycling journalist who is a friend of a colleague of Mel who is getting married on the other side of la Manche this weekend.

Work was a day of surprisingly useful meetings. That said, glad it's the weekend, and nice meal with Mel at l'Escargot Bleu after leaving Phil and Andy who I'd gone to Fotheringham with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.