Serendipity

or, the art of happy accident.  I was out on my back porch trying to line up a shot of The Enforcer chasing off an interloper, or possibly a suitor, at the hummie feeder, I couldn't tell which.  Anyway, I wasn't doing so well with them, but I had three deer standing close by enjoying the remains of their apples, also a possible blip, but then I spotted this fellow who flew into the trees across the creek.  I was so shocked that I fumbled with the camera for a few seconds before I managed to get the right end pointed at him.  He perched on the tree for only a few seconds and then it looked like he grabbed a couple twigs and flew off.  Nest building?  I didn't think they did that this time of year.  I didn't crop the picture because for some reason I liked all the bare branches against the blue sky.   I put one of his "exit" pictures in Extras and I think you can see the long branch/twig he's got.

Lesson learned: be ready for anything to show up.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.