cedar bark baskets

I worked for many years with First Nations and have many treasures, both tangible and intangible, from those years.  These are two of the small cedar baskets that I was gifted, the one on the left because I was an "honoured guest" of the family at a ceremony in a big house, and the one on the right from a good friend.   In one of the First Nations cultural courses in the program I worked with, the students were given the opportunity to try traditional skills such as basket making and drum making.  I took part in the basket making one, but part of the tradition is to give away the first thing you make, so I gave mine to a student.  I have the one that a student gave to me.  The presenter of the workshop had stripped and prepared the bark herself.   I was going to make a drum, but the workshop coincided with the visit of a very close friend of ours, an Aboriginal Australian scholar, so he took my place and was thrilled to be able to take his drum home to Australia through customs. 
Extra: I've included a photo of a little cedar rose wall hanging.  I also have a bouquet of cedar roses.
"Cedar is a well-known symbol of the Northwest Coast. For thousands of years, coastal First Nations in British Columbia have the versatile wood in many aspects of their lives.1 Not only is cedar a key natural resource in the production of material goods, the tree also plays an integral role in the spiritual beliefs and ceremonial life of coastal First Nations."  excerpt from this website  if you're interested in more information.
examples of cedar weaving

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.