Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Travel Day

Today became a rather long-ish travel day for me as I headed back to San Francisco. It started out with a visit to my former in-laws, who I'd not seen in several years. As they are getting up there in age, they have yet to make the twenty-mile or so drive to see their new great-granddaughter. I also stopped to see my former sister-in-law before heading back to my daughter's place for a curry meal.

I held my granddaughter for another half-hour or so before I had to be on my way to catch a bus ride to Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). The bus schedule was such that I had to take a 3:30 bus in order to arrive at the airport in plenty of time for my 8:11 flight, and not fret delays while passing through security. Due to weather issues in San Francisco, however, my flight got delayed by an hour or more, so I could have taken the later bus after all. (Of course, had I done that, there would have been NO delay in the flight and I would have had to scramble to catch it. Isn't that always the way it goes?)

The flight was uneventful, and I managed to view three movies in the duration: Deepwater Horizon; Florence Foster Jenkins; and The Hollars. All were quite good. I'm not a huge fan of American cinema, for the most part, but these three satisfied.

It was raining and rather windy in San Francisco upon arrival... the jet did a bit of swaying back and forth as we touched down, and aside from brief delays taxiing and having the door opened once we arrived at the gate, all was well, except that the extra time on the plane meant missing the last train back to the city; I took an Uber that was interesting but got me home by about 1:00 A.M.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.