Mono Monday - From a Frog's perspective

I never liked the story of the frog prince.  He was quite the opportunist - taking advantage of the poor princess and striking a deal when she had no other option. I didn't like the King either; I thought he was so sanctimonious when he chastised the girl for not wanting to marry the frog.   The details disturbed me: his wide smile as he sat on the table by her golden plate, the wet squishy flops on the stairs as he made his way to her room, the clammy body against her cheek when he hopped on the pillow.  The princess had acted dishonorably in running away, but I always cheered when she threw him against the wall.  Looking at the story now, I find it even more deplorable.    

Much appreciation to my daughter for playing the part of the princess.  I pledge to never ask you to marry an odious con artist.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.