TexMama

By TexMama

Eeuuww!

Owl Pellet

As the weather has warmed up a bit, I went out today to clean up the left over Christmas lights, etc from the front garden.

Under the oak tree I stepped on something squooshy and found an owl pellet under my shoe...so I called Sweetgirl (lover of such gross things) to have a look, and we found 4 more ... apparently the owl likes to eat dinner right here.  I will have to see if I can spot it one night.

Owl pellets went into a jar and were labelled by my lovely girl - eeuuww - and added to her macabre collection :0)

...And No1 son just fried my half-asleep brain with a barrage of interesting questions, at 11pm...(why do all the questions start after I'm ready to fall asleep?)...
Why is Alaska part of the US when it's not connected (I happen to be sitting next to a big map - and he came out to talk to me and was distracted by Alaska for some reason.)
Why is the international date line where it is?
Why is the Prime meridian at Greenwhich?
What does it look like?
Is it actually in the right place?
Can you see Russia from Alaska?
What are the lines (lat. & long.) on the map?
Why do co-ordinates have more numbers than that?
Why are they divided up into mins & seconds, wouldn't 100's be easier?
???????????????
I answered them all - thank you google
...and visited the Meridian at Greenwhich on the computer
...and learned lots of things I didn't know 
And now it's after midnight and I'm very sleepy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.