Goodbye Dolly

We had my aunts funeral today. She died Christmas morning. She was my godmother. As a child we spent most of our Christmas evenings at her house. Often staying over to Boxing Day. She had 'the big house'. I loved her salmon sandwiches. Very much a treat. She would also have chocolate digestives in her biscuit tin. Another treat.
My aunt loved animals. Especially dogs. She always got her dogs from the rescue centre. She'd always have the ones that had been in longest, that no one wanted.
It's incredibly sad as her son, my cousin has dementia. He didn't really know what was going on. These days he really only says yes and no. Today he sang all the words to her favourite song. So lovely to see although, it breaks my heart to see him deteriorate at an alarming rate.
Like all these things it was nice to catch up with relatives we don't see too often.
Dolly you would have loved your send off today. Thank you for being my godmother x x x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.