Dee47

By Dee49

S'no a good day

Well I tried but failed to get into work this morning.

I eventually turned back on the Carnwath-Biggar road which was awful. Slipping n sliding all the way on a country road, passing a car in the field, for a 5hr shift, just wasn't worth taking more of a risk than I already had to get so far in the 1st place.

Years ago I didn't mind driving in the snow. And have driven an MR2 (clearly my 'I have a fancy sports car coz I don't have kids' car at the time :) in a lot worse AND made it home before.

I think it's different now because
A) I'm older now therefore more cautious.
B) I have children, therefore I have the utmost responsibility to stay safe, for them.
C) I am a single mum therefore I feel the weight of that responsibility more I guess coz I don't have the safety net of a partner to fall back on should I need to.

In the nearly 4yrs in my job, I've only ever had the 1 snow day...... last February if I mind right...... and I also tried that day to get there too.
My timekeeping and attendance are excellent too so why do I feel guilty?

I almost feel like I should have taken this picture with today's paper showing the date for proof y'know?


Oh well, hoping that the roads will be in a better condition for driving tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.