Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chocolate

Terrible weather in parts of the UK, but we have missed the worst of it in Edinburgh - no wind, blue skies, but very very cold. This weather suits me fine, though I have to go out wearing my very silly hat with ear flaps.

I heard drilling and goings on in the corridor next door, so went out the back to have a wee nosey. It was Mark - the chap who fixed our damp problems in the summer, and is a complete handyman. He was fixing the back door. I lured him in with a cup of tea, then pointed out our still unattached draught excluding 'hairy worm'. I bought it ages ago and cut it to size, but neither of us could attach it - JR through lack of experience with screwdrivers, and me because I can't kneel down. Aha! Mark had a wee electric drill with a light on it, which was just the job, and he'd done it in five minutes. Brilliant.

In the afternoon we met up with our ex-neighbour and walked along to Summerhall, which is dog and child friendly. JR and Archie set off ahead of us, and he and a big run in the Meadows, so he came in to the cafe with four little black muddy feet. He was very good in the cafe - lay down and didn't say a peep. On every other occasion that Reuben has seen Archie, he's barked at him. So Reuben kept saying, 'No, Archie'. Or possibly, 'No Archie'.

Wee Reuben was very lively and ate most of a pastry and a big hot chocolate. It was good to catch up with all their news. I took the bus home, while the others walked back, Reuben and Archie trotting along happily together, apparently.

JR has gone off into town for a farewell do for one of her former staff, while Archie and I have settled down by the fire with a bar of chocolate each. Yum yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.