Cailleach

By Cailleach

Murky waters....

Snappybiatch told me a very funny story (see the last comments on my Blip for Friday 24th) which set me off thinking about linguistic mistakes again.

I'm very proud of being able to speak Spanish reasonably well, and when I'm in Spain, I like to chat to Spaniards as much as possible.

Years ago, on a blisteringly hot day in Madrid, I got into a taxi driven by a chap who must have been 75 at least.

Translating straight from English to Spanish, I told him 'Estoy muy caliente' (I'm feeling very warm) and was rather surprised at his reply.

'Really? he said, 'How warm exactly? Spanish girls don't seem to get this warm!'

Well it was over 40 degrees in the city, so I told him I was unbelievably warm, I was a Scot on the verge of a meltdown, and in fact had probably never felt so hot in my entire life! (I went on in the same vein at some length, showing off my fabulous language skills....)

He seemed very pleased with this answer - and then asked me if I'd like to come home with him for a bit of 'how's your father' while the wife was out!!!

I thought I must have mistranslated and asked him to repeat what he'd said.

He did ( in graphic detail) ...and you could have knocked me over with a sombrero!

I threw a few pesetas at him and got out at the next traffic lights, horrified at the suggestion he'd made.

It wasn't until later, when I was repeating the entire conversation to the Spanish friend I was staying with, that it all became clear.

Apparently, I'd got into the poor man's taxi, and announced, more than once, and with great emphasis.......that I was sexually aroused!

I still blush, fifteen years later.....


PS Backblipped for yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.