Lake Junaluska Assembly

Lake Junaluska Assembly is the home of the Southeastern (USA) Jurisdiction Offices of the United Methodist Church.  It is home to the international office of the World Methodist Council.  We lived in the community from 1989 - 1996 when I started seeing my current dermatologist in the first year there.  Seeing him is why I was there today.  (I got a totally clean report which is always good news.)  Chief Junaluska was a Cherokee Indian and attempted to be a peace maker in the difficulties that led to the Trail of Tears for Native Americans who lived in the NC mountains.  Sorry for the delay in comments but it is a 10 hour round trip drive to this area from my house.  By the way, I thought this photo offered evidence as to why the mountains in this part of the country as known as the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.