Roly's Life

By Roly

Despondent

After my optimism earlier this week, today I'm despondent. Nothing more about the job I applied for and the agent was enthusiastic about. I should have known not to get excited.

Work went well, I finished a mammoth bookkeeping job and started a lovely little income analysis. But they warned me that there will be nothing for me once we reach February. Not a surprise but still a bit disheartening.

One of my colleagues mentioned a friend of hers is advertising so I called her once I got in. We had a long conversation which can be summarised as 'sorry but until you have experience, I'm not interested'. My CV is in so many files!

So I am rethinking what to do next. I still have paid teaching in February and I still have Arq shifts. I am going to offer free bookkeeping services to friends with businesses - I can't charge as I don't have a licence so could be disciplined by the AAT (professional body). But I can't get a licence without relevant experience... chicken and egg anybody?

The frankly crap photo is of Smallest and his gappy smile - his other top middle tooth is wobbly so it could get worse in the near future... The only glimmer of light today is that he had a 'reasonable' day. Not good but not bad either. It's a start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.