Battlelines

The 2 teams skipped the introductions at midfield, and went right into gaining position in the farmers field.

The 12-15 cranes definitely had the upper hand vocally. I've tried in the past to spell out their squawk...but can never do it.

The geese made up for their lack of voice projection by their sheer numbers. Perhaps 50-60 geese. They set up their defense in wave after wave to discourage the giant cranes. The strategy worked. The cranes left. One of them must have been named Elvis...because I heard one of the geese say..."ELVIS HAS LEFT THE BUILDING!!"

The funniest thing about the picture can only be seen in LARGE. There is a single duck hidden among the geese....who I am going to assume is the referee. All she needs is a striped shirt.

On my Flickr page are a couple other shots of the standoff, and 4 shots of the hummer moth that was on my butterfly bush.

Hope everyone has a great week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.