Oaks Colliery

We were early for football tonight so my son took me to see this abandoned coal pit. It was a famous site and in December last year it was the focus of a lot of interest as it was 150 years since a terrible disaster occurred there when 361 miners lost their lives.

Before that I had had a mixed day. I was going out to do some shopping only to discover a completely flat tyre, only a week or so since servicing. So waited for the AA then off to Kwik Fit, they know me well there. Anyway it turned out that it was a problem with the wheel rim which had caused the tyre to deflate. Some removal of rust and some painting and I was on my way for no cost at all. Brilliant.

After the blip picture we went down to Oakwell to see a wonderful game against local rivals Leeds. We won and did so really well so fantastic evening, so we celebrated with some food and just home. Sorry about late blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.