Burton church

Beautiful weather today, much too beautiful to stay inside, so Rosie and I went for a wonderful little walk from Duncton catholic church to the sweet little church in the private grounds of Burton park near Petworth.
It is said no one knew about this church until it was accidentally discovered by a hunting party, which isn't surprising as it stands in the private grounds of Burton Park and can only be accessed on foot along a ridge with stunning vistas over the South Downs. 
Although dating from Norman times it was practically rebuilt in 1636, during the civil war. The interior is covered in biblical texts, and a very rare coat of arms of Charles 1, with the motto "Christo auspice regno" ( I reign under Christ's authority) and the text "obey them that have the Rule over you" Hebrews 13:17, I have included a shot in my extras.
It really is a very beautiful church almost swallowed up by the grandeur of Burton park, yet full of so many treasures and well worth a visit. 
I chose this shot as it shows how insignificant it appears compared to Burton park, and I loved the way the horses seemed to be kissing and canoodling in front of it....adding to the romance. I have added a more conventional shot in my extras,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.