must try harder

By halfcj

Soon to be my turn.

It occurred to me that I had grown up with pictures of ancestors around and that there were more than one or two pictures of my grandfather in slightly tatty condition but nonetheless, a reminder of times gone by.

The imminent arrival of our first grandchild is a stark reminder of how time flies and of our own mortality, for it seems just yesterday as I rough and tumbled on the floor with my Pa, that I looked at him through the eyes of a babe and saw a very old man that I knew was special and yet strong as an ox.

I knew he was old, because everyone told me so, as I jumped up and down on his lap. Seemed others were more concerned than he ever was. But as years passed, I looked at him with more educated eyes and learned to enjoy his rough beard, daft sayings, adulation and above all, wisdom. I recall all adults around me being much quicker than I to make fun of him and his quirky ways and sayings....the very thing that defined him to me. Many of his words still live with me today.

The thought of becoming a grandfather immediately transports me back 50 years, wondering quite how I got here. However it happened, I thought I should have an old photo for my future family to look back on. I found this one, taken....oh...at least 50 minutes ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.