Nicky

By nicky

Lunchtime walk

Bitterly cold today but we stuck with our plan to have a brisk walk at lunchtime to brush the cobwebs (and the biscuits!) away. Very glad to get back in the warm though.

I had a difficult conversation with my boss this afternoon where I was trying to politely tell him that he's not really doing his job very well and the unit is gradually falling into a trough of despair. Tricky, and I'm not sure how much he took on board, but he did say that I could be as blunt as I needed - which of course I couldn't. It's such a frustrating and depressing place to work at the moment and it's very hard to know what to do when all the line management above you are either not interested in doing the job (and are even falling asleep on the job) or are empire building and so are gradually taking responsibilities away from the team. At the end of our chat, my boss assured me that he will be stepping up to the mark in the future, but I'll believe that when I see it. What I'd like is to develop my role a bit to take on some of those responsibilities, but that would mean having more support in my current role and that's never going to happen - there just isn't any more money for more staff. Or so they say - and believe me, I've asked often enough. I think it's as much that they don't understand the need and how it would help to improve our service. And they're not listening either. 

Hmm, think a new job is really what I need. I'm looking...

Rant over :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.