AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Stormy weather...

Much as I'd like to say I've missed our ever-changing British weather, I'd be lying. I've loved waking up in a morning to see the sun's rays peeking around the sides of the curtains, and feeling the heat when I leave the hotel. Had a brief moment of sunshine this morning (shortly after being woken up by a text message - why are you up at that time on a bank holiday??), but the sky since then has been unremittingly grey and gloomy. Apologies to those of you who asked me to bring a bit of sunshine back with me - I'm afraid it wouldn't fit in my bag...

Thought I'd best do a bit of a shop this morning - I had left some fruit on top of the microwave, but unfortunately it was an unrecognisable lump of greyness by yesterday ;-)

So, I jumped the car and... nothing. Well, a sort of cough like a wheezy old man, then nothing. Oh my god, what do I do now?? No-one told me my car would be broken when I got home! Fortunately, I have a Man Who Can next door! John and Diane are really nice people, and so I thought I'd give them a try. John came round, had a listen and said, knowingly, "Yup, flat battery". A short while, a working car and a set of jump leads later, I was away! It felt so strange at first, driving. Gears and pedals and all that!

So, shopping done and Charlie collected from the kennels - he seemed to remember me after a minute and is looking remarkably well (I must ring and ask what they've been feeding him!) - and after a bite to eat he was off re-exploring the neighbourhood.

I've pottered most of the day - done a bit, sat down with a book, done a bit, sat down and watched a bit of telly - you get the drift. It seems odd to have no goals today - nowhere to travel to and nothing to find/see/photograph. I mean, there are things I need to do, but none of it's time-critical! It'll take a wee while to get used to, I think...

But I have the time, and I'm sure there'll be goals a-plenty once I go back to work.

Goeienaand x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.