No Girls Allowed

They're all at Tim and Joni's house for Maya's birthday party, so Tim and Owen fled to our house. OilMan has been working for months on the design of a three bin composting system so that Owen could help build it. When I went out to see what they were all up to, I asked Owen if he knew what I was building...no. I asked him if he knew how you make compost...no. I asked him if he knew what compost was...no. A short lesson ensued, although I'm not convinced that making compost is worth all the fuss. I don't think Owen was any the wiser when I had finished explaining it, so Oilman said, "It makes really good dirt so that your tomatoes will be even more delicious. I wish I had had the camera to record the look Owen gave him, since he hates tomatoes. He had fun building,  maybe we'll all learn about compost as the process unfolds. I'm not sure it's necessarily one that resonates with an eight year old....

Chocolate chip cookies, on the other hand, were a success. Owen is conducting an experiment on how he likes them best...as dough, warm out of the oven, cooled, with or without nuts. Many cookies have been  consumed in the research, and I don't think a conclusion has been reached yet....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.