Harry's Game

“I have been taking pictures of Donald Trump since the early 1980s. He’s very good for our business, because you always get something out of it...
 
...I’m a Democrat, but you get better pictures with Republicans – they have more manners... I don’t find it hard working with people I disagree with politically; I’m not there to editorialize or flatter or debunk. It’s just a job; I’m not backing anybody...
 
...I’m 87 now, and proud of the fact I’m still working – I’ll always have my camera bag packed.
 
I’ve not been asked to photograph [Trump] at the White House. I don’t care if I never photograph him again, but if I’m invited, I’ll go. I’d shoot him stretched out on a couch under a painting of George Washington. I’d get him to take his shoes off, or even his trousers. It could happen.

These are strange times, and I’m not looking forward to them.”

Harry Benson, Photographer |
The Guardian Weekend 21 January 2017

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.