Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The empty place

Aged P died a year ago today, and I wasn't really thinking it would affect me but it did. Its a strange feeling having no parents around, even when you are nearly sixty yourself. Inside I feel like an orphaned boy.

Fortunately I have a lot of loving family. The Dizzle and The Girl Racer facetimed from Australia and Canada respectively, andTop Gun was just awesomely supportive. As for TSM ... I felt wrapped in love and tenderness.

The three of us sat in a pub for a couple of hours this afternoon and ate and drank and talked. One of those totally nourishing English pubs with decent beer and a log fire and nice people. Not busy but busy enough. This empty table next to us made me think of days gone by when we took Aged P and my stepfather out for lunch. They would have enjoyed this.

I was a bit out of it with toothache as well today. Need to get hold of a dentist as a matter of urgency tomorrow, the painkillers really are not enough to keep this bugger at bay. Oh and it was totally grey and then pissed down with rain.

Early evening and another movie night beckons. The latest Star Trek. Time to boldly go ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.