Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

broken bricks...

I went to visit one of the ECD centres this morning and found very few children with a teacher (who has a certificate in ECD).  The teacher was just sitting on a chair and the children were outside finding broken cement bricks which they then used to build a house with three rooms and a very large entrance!    I was so disappointed to find this teacher doing nothing as she showed great potential when I had the workshop in December with them!  However, after talking to her about the programme and what she was planning to do (nothing), I realised she has no interest at all in helping these children develop!  So disappointing! 

I had a great time with the kids - I read them a story about an elephant and we discussed houses (in my broken Nyanja)!!  I had a lot of fun and I think they did too!

So much to do with the teachers though!!!

Just as I had written this post the electricity went off - we are in the middle of a massive electric storm, so am hoping it stays on until this is posted!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.