People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Project Glitz

After four months of work, Project Glitz is done. I nudged my advisor/mentor to work with me on putting together the required packet of letters to get him elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. He did more work on this than I did, by contacting people near and far who worked with him over the years and can vouch for his graces and serious scientific acumen. The letter I wrote to support his nomination was rather kick-ass, too, as I wrote in based both on my experiences, and his zillion-page long CV. Since he is of the humble persuasion, this whole process has been a bit hard on him. Imagine reading two or so dozens of letters about yourself, written by a group of pretty impressive movers and shakers, full of (gasp!) warm compliments and appreciation. Yikes!!! :-)

I have no idea what happens next; today the binder landed in the Provost's office (located inside Lee Hall, pictured above). It felt good to do something for someone who certainly has had a tremendous impact on my scholarly life. A committee of seven reviews these, and decides whether an individual is worthy of this highest honor. I will keep you posted.

Here is more information: http://www.giles.msstate.edu/

The extra: The (very reluctant) man behind the binder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.