Over Yonder

By Stoffel

"Pay The Man"

My Dear Fellow,

I'm not sure what the brown paper means. I hope it does not mean we're losing another high street store to make way for a Carphone Warehouse.

Not that it matters really. I can't remember the last time I was in there. I do remember the time me, you and Er Indoors were all in there together though. It was just before Er Indoor's 27th birthday party and you wanted some new togs to impress "the ladies". 

You had been impressed by the makeover job she had done on me and engaged her services to do the same for you.

So me and you were taken up & down Princes Street - from Gap to Levis to River Island to Next. We eschewed Burtons but we might even have gone as far as Flip. We all had a great time - I just remember laughing all day. Er Indoors enjoyed herself tons. And then there was the Helpful Assistant laden down with clothes and accessories asking you what you wanted to take.

I seem to remember you saying you would take it all. Then you turned to Er Indoors, handed her your wallet and said, "Pay the man".

It was the coolest thing ever. 

Then we all went back to Abbeyhill where you introduced Er Indoors to delivery curry (she has never looked back since).

Please don't turn this store into a Carphone Warehouse. I need memories like this whenever I walk down the street.

El P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.