Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

SCARY BEASTIE

Working on the principle that being curious about unpleasant things helps us deal with them better, I focussed on wasps today as they got drunk on the fennel flowers. I was so close that at one point two of them were crawling over my hand while I tried (not very successfully) to focus on the third. I should admit that I am not frightened by wasps - I have only been stung twice, once when I sat on one and once when one landed on my brake pedal when I was driving in my bare feet, Though neither experience was pleasant (the first was embarassing and the second was downright dangerous, in both incidences the wasp had a clear case of self defence. Anyway, close up they are amazing!

I also spent some time fiddling with the different manual settings on the Nikon D3100 - well a year of just pointing and shooting is enough. I think I need to spend ages practising so that I feel comfortable with what I am doing, so I shot off about 100 images, most of them rubbish, but that's what digital is about, eh? I start a class in October and don't want to appear a complete numpty.

It has been both dry and sunny today, so began to catch up in the jungle that I fondly call the garden. It is comforting that autumn is on its way and these weeds will probably die before I do. Another batch of rasps were ruined by the rain, but otherwise we were fortunate to have little damage.

Met a pal for lunch at the Three Sisters. She came on her Dawes Duchess and I lusted after it in a quite unladylike fashion. I am trying to justify my desire to buy a bike by saying I need something to help me keep up with the VIP on his Isla Rothan - running just won't do any more.

GOOD THINGS
The lovely evening light on the garden
Stornaway black pudding - I could easily be a veggie were is not for this
The breeze in the trees

EXERCISE DIARY
Zilch - must do better tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.