Memories

There's nothing like a week of grey skies and pretty solid rain to make you reflect.

I'm glad to be home. I had a wonderful holiday and it's been great to catch up with Furbie and my friends.

But this morning, I spent some time looking back and thinking about the trip of a lifetime. Remembering the lemurs, the red-footed boobies, the people on the ship, the village in Nosy Mangabe.... and sorting through the very few souvenirs I brought home.

We bought beautiful silk scarves in aid  of one of the Madagascar charities. And those of us on the ship managed to raise enough money to purchase a boat so that the people replacing and tending the new mangrove forest can move safely and more quickly around, and get medical help quickly.

But I did weaken in Zanzibar - a cheap but rather lovely painting (on what looks like a bit of plastic blind) and some nick nacks.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.