Groundhog Day

"The tradition of Groundhog Day began as a custom among the German community in the US state of Pennsylvania in 1887.
According to folklore, if the weather is cloudy when a groundhog emerges from its burrow on February 2, then spring will come early that year.
If it is sunny, the groundhog will see its shadow and head back inside – and winter will continue for another six weeks."

Today would have been my Mom's 80th birthday.
I have sent my Mom flowers on this day for most of my life with a card that said Happy Groundhog Day. She always laughed.

Today flowers will be delivered to my Dad & brother, my Aunt , her close nieces and nephew. The cards all say "To celebrate Mom's Life. Happy Groundhog Day."

Last year I screwed up the dates and called my brother to plan a surprise 80th birthday for Mom, only to be corrected of course. I should have done it anyway. She would have loved it. She would have laughed.
I am watching the PA Groundhog events on TV this morning as my Mom would have.
My heart hurts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.