Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

I ran away from home today

The weather was so spring like and the wicked wind finally quit blowing so I decided to do some exploring.   This is Horseshoe Falls which is only about an hour or so away from my house.  This is very close to the parking area but there is also a path that goes beyond to the site of a Revolutionary War battle at Musgrove Mill Historic Site.  I will be going back to see that area but as I had the dog, I decided it was not a good time to visit there.    

If you like history (British and American!) this is a link to the site.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Musgrove_Mill_State_Historic_Site

I only saw 4 other people..2 tourists from Ohio who I talked to and told them some other places in the state to visit and 2 men training for some kind of ironman thing..they both ran the trail (and there were plenty of tree roots and steps!).    

In the extras are some views of the creek and the path but also a grave marker ...apparently this Colonel and 5 unknown people were buried right where they were killed during the battle.   

I like being alone in the woods with just the sounds of water falling, leaves rustling, birds singing (just a few today) and the sound of the earth turning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.