Venezia!

For most people this would be an odd sign, but 8 weeks in Italy and it doesn't look quite so odd. So, Venice on the left and Milan on the right. Strangely enough by now I'm taking the Venice signs to Bormio (albeit just for a few minutes).

I'm starting to enjoy the language now as well, signs are my favourite source (mainly because I've seen so many). Can't understand a word anyone says to me, but I smile, say Ciao and Gratzie at the right moments. We've added bounjourno and buonaceras (sorry, spelling is awful) to the vocab, which is promising. 4 words in 8 weeks! But I'm gradually making some decent guesses for words as well.

Love the way that private security firms are called "Vigilanze"! What a great use of the word vigilant, vigilante, etc.

Think I'll have to make a better attempt at the language for next year though, not knowing just makes me feel like an idiot really.

Anyway, 12 hour drive from Naples done, gonna sleep well tonight I think. (Someone else did 3-4 hours of the drive though).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.