abluecloudcloth

By abluecloudcloth

a study in grapefruit

My mother finds black and white a bit depressing. She likes bright, happy colors in hues of red, orange, yellow and vibrant blues. While I enjoy "happy" photos full of vibrancy, I also find something beautiful and peaceful about the classic, monochromatic black and white photograph. The contrast between light and dark fascinates me, and I am grateful to this challenge for helping me explore outside the box. Even the most mundane things take a new life in black and white.

I took this picture late afternoon, having lost most of the direct sunlight. Our house is surrounded by trees, and morning is really the best time to take indoor pictures. I realize I take a lot of photos featuring plant life, which is mainly due to the difficulty in taking decent indoor pictures. This one is not the best, but I like the bright white bowl and the dark, circular shadow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.