Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Well I wasn't expecting that

Been a random day today.

Had a briefing on meta-cognition and language acquisition, tried to improve my handwriting, made the best ever crispy shredded chilli beef for tea, and had an unexpected question from Jnr Jnr in the car after school......

My class had had some visitors in from Healthy Schools in to discuss puberty.  It's part of the SRE (Sex and Relationship Education) learning they are having whilst I am on my PPA (non-contact time) with the ace Mrs B, so I am not doing it with my class this year.  I have taught it a few times over the years and really enjoy it - I wish the government and Ofsted would get off their right-wing arses and give us more curriculum time to teach such things. The statistics linked to this aspect of education say it all.

Anyway [steps off soapbox], Jnr Jnr got to hear about all the new and exciting things that happen to boys' and girls' bodies as the hormones start to kick in.  I asked her in the car how the talk went and the short conversation went like this:

Me: How was the SRE talk?
Jnr Jnr: It was on puberty - I really do not want to bleed!
Me: Well, you will, it is not as bad as it first sounds, so don't worry.
Jnr Jnr: Did you get wet dreams?
Me:...............


I had to process that was actually asked a few times before answering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.