Snow Joke

My wish came true this afternoon as D and I became snow chasers. We drove over the Hartside Pass to the top of Alston Moor. It's 1904ft up and apparently you can see Helvellyn, Great Gable and Skiddaw from the Hartside Top cafe at the top. We couldn't see anything except snow. There was a mighty blizzard blowing and as I opened the car door, the wind took it and I had to hold on with both hands to try and stop it. As I got out of the car my boots were sliding around on the compacted snow, the wind was howling, I was grabbing the door and laughing hysterically.  I don't think I've ever seen weather like it. It was worth the trip up here just to experience that.
The road down was a little bit scary but it's amazing how quickly you leave the snow behind and get back into the rain.

This morning we all went to Gretna to do some shopping in the outlet and this evening Helen and co. are all coming over for a curry which should warm us up nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.