St Swithin's Well

Copt Hewick, near Ripon

Have travel, will well.
I had to travel so it seemed dutiful to see if there were any handy wells to be had. This is just outside Ripon and there's a thought that St Swthin (usually associated with Winchester, and the weather) may have passed through on his way to see his mate St Wilfred at Ripon. I was also intrigued by the place-name. I was reminded of Copt Howe in the Lakes. It seems it's a corruption of the Old English 'coppede' or, top, and the Hewick is 'high settlement'.
I haven't quite got over my well anxiety and felt a bit of a prune taking this on a foul Sunday morning in the middle of the village common, surrounded by the twitching curtains of the 'well' to do folk of the West Riding....touch of the train spotter about it! I blipped and ran.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.